Aligned Learning (Managed Instruction) Districtwide Action Team


  • Communicate clear expectations for components of managed instruction
  • Propose system for consistent and sustained implementation and monitoring of key instructional practices


The Aligned Learning (Managed Instruction) Districtwide Action Team has a total of 21 members; 14 are staff (including the District Facilitator, staff content lead and notetaker) and 4 are community members. The Community Co-Chair (St Paul Federation of Teachers President) is both a staff and community representative. The staff include individuals from various central office departments (Division of Academic Services, Title I, School and Program Improvement, ELL) as well as principals, teachers and/or other instructional personnel from the following schools: Ames/Sheridan, Battle Creek, Como Park, Central, Benjamin Mays, Humboldt, Johnson Sr, Harding, Frost Lake. The community members include current and former parents from several schools including: American Indian, Hancock-Hamline, and Groveland Park.

The racial composition of the team (including Board Directors) is as follows*: 2 African-American, 1 Asian, 2 American Indian, 16 Caucasian, and 2 Hispanic.

*Unless self-identified as multi-racial, individuals who selected more than one race were counted in each racial category.


All meetings will take place at the SPPS Administration Building located at 360 Colborne Street, St. Paul, MN 55102.

Please click on the dates listed below to view meeting notes.

  • Tuesday, June 14, 2011
  • Thursday, June 23, 2011
  • Tuesday, July 12, 2011
  • Tuesday, August 9, 2011
  • Tuesday, August 30, 2011
  • Tuesday, September 27, 2011 
  • Tuesday, October 11, 2011             
  • Tuesday, October 25, 2011             
  • Tuesday, November 22, 2011         
  • Thursday, December 1, 2011         
  • Monday, December 19, 2011           Final Presentation
  • Kate Wilcox-Harris, Staff Facilitator
  • Mary Cathryn Ricker, Community Co-Chair
  • Matt Mohs, Staff Resource Lead
  • Holly Miller, Staff Note-Taker
  • Rebecca Biel, Member
  • Jerry Blakey, Member
  • Vaughn Bodelson, Member
  • John Brodrick, Member (Director, Board of Education)
  • Marty Davis, Member
  • Jennifer Flood, Member
  • Lisa Gruenewald, Member
  • Delores Henderson, Member
  • Daniel Mesick, Member
  • Susan Mondry, Member
  • Margie Motzel, Member
  • Jean O'Connell ( Vice Chair, Board of Education)
  • Sara Oemichen, Member
  • Christine Osorio, Member
  • Kaye Thompson Peters, Member
  • Concha Fernandez de la Rey, Member
  • Jennifer Schultz, Member
  • Jocelyn Sims, Member
  • Lindan Vue, Member
  • Felicia Widi, Member



Please contact Joe Munnich, or (651) 767-8109, with any questions.


For up-to-date information on Strong Schools, Strong Communities Implementation and monitoring,

please visit