Integration-Choice Districtwide Action Team


  • Revise SPPS integration plan to align with SSSC Goals
  • Define attendance areas, transportation zones and student placement criteria to ensure equitable education across the city and for all students


The Integration/Choice Districtwide Action Team has a total of 24 members; 14 are staff (including the District Facilitator, staff content lead and notetaker) and 8 are community members (including the Community Co-Chair). The staff include individuals from various central office departments (Office of Family Engagement and Community Partnerships (FECP), Student Placement Center, REA, Transportation, Special Education, ELL, Hubbs Center, Pre-K Program, Title I) as well as principals, teachers and/or other instructional personnel from Highland Jr, and Groveland Park. The community members include alumni, parents and representatives of the following schools, groups and/or organizations: Horace Mann, Highland, Randolph, LNFI, Farnsworth, NAACP, William Mitchell School of Law, Girl Scouts of MN, WI River Valley.

The racial composition of the team (including Board Directors) is as follows*: 9 African-American, 1 American Indian, 1 Asian, 11 Caucasian, 1 Hispanic and 1 unidentified.

* Unless self-identified as multi-racial, individuals who selected more than one race were counted in each racial category.


All meetings will take place at the SPPS Administration Building located at 360 Colborne Street, St. Paul, MN 55102.

Please click on the dates listed below to view meeting notes.

  • Monday, June 13, 2011
  • Monday, June 27, 2011
  • Monday, August 8, 2011
  • Monday, September 12, 2011                         
  • Monday, September 26, 2011                         
  • Monday, October 10, 2011                               
  • Monday, October 24, 2011                               
  • Monday, November 7, 2011                             
  • Monday, November 21, 2011                           
  • Monday, December 5, 2011                             
  • Monday, December 12, 2011                           
  • Monday, December 19, 2011       Final Presentation


  • Jackie Turner, Staff Facilitator
  • Duane Reed, Community Co-Chair
  • Jill Cacy, Staff Resource Lead
  • Steve Schellenberg, Staff Resource Lead
  • Harold Turnquist, Staff Resource Lead
  • Dana Abrams, Staff Note-Taker
  • Abdisalam Adam, Member
  • Steven Aeilts, Member
  • Eric Bradley, Member
  • Sarah Geving, Member
  • Keith Hardy, Member (Clerk, Board of Education)
  • Shela Her, Member
  • Becky Hicks, Member
  • Jim Hilbert, Member
  • Emily Leabch, Member
  • Jeffrey Martin, Member
  • Jackie Means, Member
  • Kristen Morris, Member
  • Mike Mullaney, Member
  • Ben Osmond, Member
  • Bonita LC Reyes, Member
  • Jeff Sambs, Member
  • Elona Street-Stewart, Member (Chair, Board of Education)
  • Baraka Tura, Member



Please contact Joe Munnich, or (651) 767-8109, with any questions.


For up-to-date information on Strong Schools, Strong Communities Implementation and monitoring,

please visit