Achievement Gap Districtwide Action Team


  • Understand the impact of race on achievement
  • Identify effective practices within SPPS that are closing the achievement gap
  • Propose plan for bringing successful practices to scale across district


The Achievement Gap Districtwide Action Team has a total of 30 members; 18 are staff (including the District Facilitator, staff content lead and notetaker) and 12 are community members (including the Community Co-Chair). The staff include individuals from various central office departments (School and Program Improvement, Title I, Special Education, Student Placement, Area Learning Centers, Gifted Services and Division of Schools) as well as principals, teachers and/or other instructional personnel from the following schools: Phalen Lake, Farnsworth, Central, Benjamin Mays, Obama, Harding, World Cultures. The community members include parents of current and former SPPS students (Obama, Central, JJ Hill, Nokomis) and representatives of the following groups and organizations: African American Leadership Council (AALC), District Parent Advisory Council (DPAC), University of Minnesota, YWCA, St Paul NAACP, Target.

The racial composition of the team (not including Board Directors) is as follows*: 12 African-American, 2 American Indian, 3 Asian, 13 Caucasian, and 2 Hispanic.

* Unless self-identified as multi-racial, individuals who selected more than one race were counted in each racial category.


All meetings will take place at the SPPS Administration Building located at 360 Colborne St., St. Paul, MN 55102.


+ Schedule is subject to change.



  • Stacey Gray Akyea, Staff Facilitator
  • Grant Abbott, Community Co-Chair
  • Mike Kremer, Staff Resource Lead
  • Sherry Carlstrom, Staff Note-Taker
  • Valerie Butler, Member
  • Alecia Carter, Member
  • Tamiko Castile, Member
  • Jo Ann Clark, Member
  • Joel Franklin, Member
  • Elizabeth Honkanen, Member
  • Clara Hutchinson, Member
  • Jeff Koon, Member
  • Chong Lee, Member
  • Tonya Long, Member
  • Leon Neve, Member
  • Catherine Rich, Member
  • Sharla Scullen, Member
  • Rebecca Wade, Member
  • Jayne Williams, Member



Please contact Joe Munnich, or (651) 767-8109, with any questions.


For up-to-date information on Strong Schools, Strong Communities Implementation and monitoring,

please visit